Aspire Systems and an anonymised specialty retailer: POS functional testing case analysed
Verdict: what is checkable
The evidence grade (this site's label for how a case is sourced: primary with client or press confirmation, secondary when vendor-hosted only.) is secondary: the only source is the vendor's own page; of 7 metrics, 0 are verifiable yes, 0 partial and 7 no. [ev-1141]
Client profile as published
- Client
a globally recognized American retail chain, well-known for selling home décor, furniture, textiles, accessories, and gifts
(the vendor's description; the vendor does not name the client)- Segment
- Specialty retail
- Region
- United States
- Channels
- stores and ecommerce
- Size indicators
operate in 35 states
;around 360 stores
The client description and size indicators are quoted from the source; segment, region and channels are this site's classification. [ev-1141]
Systems in scope
- POS (point of sale: the till software and hardware that rings up store sales, takes card payments and prints receipts.) (Veras POS): named in The Need section; platform named in the Technology Snapshot
- OMS (order management system: software that routes, splits and tracks customer orders across stores, warehouses and carriers.) (IBM Sterling OMS): named in The Need section; platform named in Aspire's Solution and the Technology Snapshot
- Ecommerce platform (Open Commerce Platform (OCP)): named in Aspire's Solution and the Technology Snapshot
- Payments (Cybersource, PayPal): named in the Snapshot of our solution table
- Integrations: named in The Need section (integration with third parties) and the Snapshot of our solution table (POS and OMS integration for BOPIS (buy online, pick up in store: an order placed on the web or in an app and collected at a physical store.) and STS orders)
Where the source names each system is quoted or summarised from the case page. [ev-1141]
Problem as stated
The retailer runs a POS and an order management system in its stores, tied to a back office server, and wanted end-to-end testing to validate and modernize them. It needed separate regression suites (the set of tests rerun before each release to check that existing features still work after a code change.), more than 800 test scenarios written within a fixed timeframe, validation of feature-heavy work items, and checks on third-party integrations. [ev-1141]
time-efficient, inexpensive and effort-intensive(quoted from the source)
Approach
- Testing types
- functional and api (main scope: functional)
- Team shape
- three resources during peak periods; offshore and onshore teams
- Duration
- not stated
- Engagement model
- not stated
- Tooling named in the source
- DameWare, Postman, IBM HTTP API tester, Jira
Metrics claimed
| Metric | Value | Unit | Claimed by | Verifiable | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| POS test cases developed | 375 | test cases | vendor | no | ev-1142 |
| OMS test cases developed | 550 | test cases | vendor | no | ev-1142 |
| integration and E2E test cases created | 300 | test cases | vendor | no | ev-1143 |
| test scenarios required | 800+ | test scenarios | vendor | no | ev-1144 |
| POS defects reported | 120 | defects | vendor | no | ev-1145 |
| OMS defects reported | 50 | defects | vendor | no | ev-1145 |
| test coverage across POS, BOS and OMS | 100 | % | vendor | no | ev-1146 |
What the case does not say
- Baseline before the engagement.
- Measurement method.
- Duration over which the metric held.
- Cost.
- What was out of scope.
- Date of the work.
Reading notes for a buyer
This case speaks to the scenario “POS rollout across stores” and feeds dimension D2 (Retail system coverage) of the methodology. A question to put to Aspire Systems:
How was the coverage claim measured across POS, BOS and OMS, and against which list of requirements? [ev-1141]
Source and verification
- Source
- American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage
- Published
- not dated by the vendor
- Verified
- 2026-10-30
- Evidence grade
- secondary
- Corroborating sources
- none found
| Id | Claim | Source | Class | Grade | Published | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ev-1141 | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 | |
| ev-1142 | Developed 375 POS test cases and 550 OMS test cases | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 | |
| ev-1143 | Created 300 integration and End-to-End (E2E) test cases covering order creation, order fulfilment, sales posting and various other omnichannel scenarios | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 | |
| ev-1144 | Development of 800+ test scenarios within a given timeframe | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 | |
| ev-1145 | 120 POS defects and 50 OMS defects were identified and reported | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 | |
| ev-1146 | 100% test coverage was achieved, encompassing POS, BOS, and OMS systems. | American Retailer’s POS, OMS and BOS systems made error-free with Aspire’s E2E testing with 100% coverage | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 |
Vendor profile: Aspire Systems. System facet: OMS and WMS testing vendors.
Positions on this page are computed from the methodology published at /methodology/ and from the evidence records linked on this page. Case study figures are the vendor's or the client's claims as published at the linked source; the "verifiable" column states what this site could check. The site does not recommend vendors, does not accept paid placement and does not publish rates. Last computed: 2026-11-03.
Published by the editor of retailqavendors.com. Last reviewed .