QATestLab and an anonymised specialty retailer: Shopify accessibility testing case analysed
Verdict: what is checkable
The evidence grade (this site's label for how a case is sourced: primary with client or press confirmation, secondary when vendor-hosted only.) is secondary: the only source is the vendor's own page; the case publishes no metric, so nothing in it can be checked as a figure. [ev-1198]
Client profile as published
- Client
an exclusive chocolate shop
(the vendor's description; the vendor does not name the client)- Segment
- Specialty retail
- Region
- not stated in the source
- Channels
- ecommerce
- Size indicators
- none given
The client description and size indicators are quoted from the source; segment, region and channels are this site's classification. [ev-1198]
Systems in scope
- Ecommerce platform (Shopify): named in the Project Overview section
Where the source names each system is quoted or summarised from the case page. [ev-1198]
Problem as stated
The chocolate shop runs a Shopify store where shoppers find and customize products. The store had to work across many customer journeys and keep its animations and interactive elements accessible on popular devices. It had to be usable by people with disabilities and keep a customized gifting flow stable with seasonal stock logic. Accessibility compliance had to be reached before a fixed release date. [ev-1198]
Achieve accessibility compliance under time pressure to meet the scheduled website release date.(quoted from the source)
Approach
- Testing types
- accessibility, functional, mobile and performance (main scope: accessibility)
- Team shape
- not stated
- Duration
- not stated
- Engagement model
- not stated
- Tooling named in the source
- Google Chrome, Safari
Metrics claimed
The case publishes no metric.
What the case does not say
- Baseline before the engagement.
- Measurement method.
- Team size on both sides.
- Cost.
- Whether the client is still a client.
- Date of the work.
Reading notes for a buyer
This case speaks to the scenario “First outsourced QA team for a mid-size retailer” and feeds dimension D8 (Compliance and security evidence) of the methodology. A question to put to QATestLab:
Which blockers in the order and gifting flow did you report before release, and how was WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines: the W3C standard with testable rules for making websites usable by people with disabilities.) conformance checked? [ev-1198]
Source and verification
- Source
- Ensuring The Inclusivity of Exclusive Chocolate Shop Within Tight Deadlines
- Published
- not dated by the vendor
- Verified
- 2026-10-30
- Evidence grade
- secondary
- Corroborating sources
- none found
| Id | Claim | Source | Class | Grade | Published | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ev-1198 | Ensuring The Inclusivity of Exclusive Chocolate Shop Within Tight Deadlines | Ensuring The Inclusivity of Exclusive Chocolate Shop Within Tight Deadlines | vendor-case-study | secondary | 2026-10-30 |
Vendor profile: QATestLab. System facet: Ecommerce platform testing vendors.
Positions on this page are computed from the methodology published at /methodology/ and from the evidence records linked on this page. Case study figures are the vendor's or the client's claims as published at the linked source; the "verifiable" column states what this site could check. The site does not recommend vendors, does not accept paid placement and does not publish rates. Last computed: 2026-11-03.
Published by the editor of retailqavendors.com. Last reviewed .